Hey I just met you and this is crazy, but you’re over 30, fat and lazy.

This morning I read This article and it gave me an idea on how to link up my current thoughts on why I’m sometimes pretty bemused  at the world.

I like to think I spend a lot of my time trying to teach other people stuff. Be it through work, or sports or more relevantly, my immediate friends.  Queue this Mariah Carey song 

DO I want to be a hero? Is it really just about making myself feel better here?

Through my work I’m the Boss lady. People need to learn to develop themselves if they want to get anywhere with their career in the company. My efforts to help them do that, are appreciated when they get promoted or some kind of tangible gain can be seen as a result. I then feel happy that Ive taught someone something that has helped them in their lives.

When it comes to friends, the opposite is often true.  I sometimes feel like I’m an honorary mother figure who’s advice is to be ignored because it isn’t cool.  This could also be a feeling I am getting because of the way society has brought up girls and women to compete with each other and there will always be disparity.  It isn’t tangible, and the lessons of  women who have gone before us seem outdated and fussy, even if they are only a few years ahead of us in our lives.

It could also be that maybe I care more about it, and think more on it than they do. It could also be that my delivery is too direct.  If you were to ask me what I want to achieve in my advice giving, it really is so that other people can make their own lives better.  I think this is the crux of  why people interfere in each others’ lives. By God, maybe it’s the meaning of life!

I honestly never thought I would get to a stage where I would say “when I was your age..” but, like global warming, it happens quickly and some people still can’t come to grips with the concept.

Moving into your 30s and realising a lot of people in your life were still in high school when you were out getting shit faced at uni or you were already having a career mapped out, is kind of daunting.

I don’t think Ive ever had a conversation with a group of women,  especially those who I have just been introduced to, where the topic of how old everyone is, hasn’t come up.

Why do we do that?

It’s some kind of gauge as to who knows more? Or is it some kind of gauge as to who is past their use by date? DO I need to compete with this woman for space, both in getting attention, and for the recognition of my ideas?   Hey I just met you, and this is crazy, but you’re over thirty so you’re  fat and lazy

Even at my recently taken up sport of Cricket. Yes, Women’s cricket there aren’t a lot of us, so I feel naturally,  we should band together, one bit of sledging stemmed from accusing another player of being 30.  The girl who was sledging the older woman was 14 years old.  At 14 years old, she feared being 30 because that was old! In sporting terms 30 is past it.  You’ve done your dash, time to go off and have babies and leave the sports to the young and less creaky boned.

How did she get that way?

Sometimes I wonder if I’m the only person concerning myself with such questions.  I believe the standard you walk past, is the standard you accept.

Leave a Reply

